In the Shadows of the Night

9f695c2e38c1aba9647351019c160b21

In the Shadows of the Night        by Charlene Tops

In the shadows of the night, I peer out my window.

Across the street I see perched on the neighbor’s roof, a man looking like a leftover elf from Christmas Eve.

Wait, no, it’s an evil man lurking in the darkness!  Could he be waiting till all are asleep, so that he can climb into their window and rob and destroy them?

No, it’s a witch on a broom , riding through the neighborhood, cursing the house she has landed on.

No, as I gaze closer, I see the head has turned; it is now a wolf; sneering and baring teeth ready to lurch on someone aware.

My heart races, as I see each fallacy as truth, in the shadows of the night.

In the shadows of the night, my mind peers out the window of my world.

I see perched on the ledge of my thoughts, someone appearing as a leftover elf from Christmas Eve, sprinkling joy into my world.

Wait, no, it’s an evil man!  Could he be waiting till I am asleep to rob me of my dreams and destroy my world?

No, it’s a witch on a broom, riding through my mind, cursing and despising my vision and passions for life.

No, as I gaze closer, I see the head has turned, it is now a wolf; sneering and baring teeth ready to lurch on my life and tear me to shreds while I am unaware.

My heart races, as I see each fallacy as truth, in the shadows of the night.

History of Poem:  One night I was having trouble sleeping, so I went outside to my front porch.  While sitting there I was gazing around.  Across the street, the shadows began to play tricks on my eyes…the image I first saw switched several times. The next morning when I went out to the porch in the daylight, I could clearly see.  I began to think how true it is, that in the dark stillness of the night we can imagine all kinds of things.  I was contemplating a life path change and was doubting whether or not I really could do it.  So, of course, at night I was plagued with doubts and fears but in the daylight that morning I realized that sometimes the things we see are just false.  I made my decision that morning to go out of my comfort zone and pursue what I have always desired to do.  So thankful I did!

Leave a Reply

